Accessory is not made to work with iPhone

by postbreak

This annoying popup appears every time I plug my iPhone 3G into my iPod dock. Sure, I could buy the iPhone dock but why when I already have a dock that essentially does the same thing. I quickly looked for a way to disable this popup and found a few guides, unfortunately they all had consequences. The only guide that blocked this popup made the service it replaced crash constantly. This made the crash reporter run the entire time at about 50% CPU utilization. Luckily Apple realized this popup is very annoying.

 

This accessory is not made to work with iPhone

This error message is quite annoying.

After a few days of hitting “No” every time I docked my iPhone before I went to bed I noticed that the popup just goes away after about 15 seconds. This is on 3.1.2 firmware so I’m not sure if it was included in earlier firmwares. I mean sure the fact that I can’t disable the popup annoys me but since it disappears automatically I can at least ignore it.

 

