Updating the Intel X25M G2 on the Mac

by postbreak

**Update 10/27** Intel has pulled the update for bricking the SSDs running Windows 7. I was able to update successfully so for the time being ignore this post.

Intel released a firmware update for the Intel X25M G2 the other day which greatly improves write performance. You can check out the release notes and download here. Unfortunately this bootable ISO doesn’t exactly boot on Macs. You might have better luck than me but even after trying to image the ISO to a jump drive I was left with 4 coasters and zero luck. After spending 20 minutes on the phone with Intel support  only to have them tell me they don’t have Macs to test with I gave up.

I am almost positive I know the cause of the booting problems. Back in the day I had a Sega Dreamcast and getting homebrew on it was a bit of a pain. There were boot loaders than would setup the device so you could swap the disc for an emulator disc or game disc. The reason the Dreamcast needed to be boot strapped was because some of the games were so small in size the laser had trouble loading the data. The boot loader would preload some of the game into memory.

I was able to fix this problem by filling the disc with garbage to space the data out. This meant filling different portions of the disc with empty folders, thousands of them. The Intel firmware update disc is just under 3MB, the Dreamcast had trouble with discs under ~300MB.

Updating the firmware on my Intel SSD meant I had to take the drive out and put it into the Dell laptop I had lying around. This is unacceptable and wont work for a lot of Mac owners with this drive. In the mean time I am going to try and get a working copy of this disc to boot on the Mac and as soon as I do I will post a link to it. I have already called and complained to Intel technical support so they know about the issue. If you want to know more about my progress send me an email and I will let you know if I get it working.

