Snow Leopard and 32-bit Macs

by postbreak

Back in 2006 I bought the Macbook I’m typing on. At the time Core Duo was the cpu type unlike the now common Core 2 Duo. The difference being Core Duo is a 32-bit chip among cache sizes ect. The biggest selling point of Snow Leopard is the fact that it can run in full 64-bit mode which ran shivers down my spine. Would Snow Leopard run on my Macbook since I didn’t have a 64-bit chip?

All Intel Processors?

All Intel Processors?

Well I installed Snow Leopard 10A380 yesterday and I can tell you it screams on my 32-bit Macbook. It is pretty well documented that Snow Leopard includes both a 64 and 32-bit kernel however until I actually saw it running on a 32-bit Mac I was skeptical. Then I noticed this on the Tech Specs page.

Early adopters are saved!

Early adopters are saved!

Overall I am excited to know that my 3 year old Macbook isn’t stuck running Leopard and I can upgrade in the fall. Also those core solo Mac Minis can run Snow Leopard as well minus the Grand Central feature it appears.

