My favorite Mac shortcuts

by postbreak

There are some Mac shortcuts that everyone knows however I still like to highlight a few that took me ages to grasp. Yes, some of these are redundant, but you might learn a few more.

Shift-Command-3 – Take a full screen-shot including all monitors. The output gets dumped into a default PNG format on your desktop.

Shift-Command-4 – Take a screenshot of a selected area. Bonus, hit the space bar and grab the front most window.

Ctrl-Option-Command-8 – Invert the screen for night viewing and high contrast.

Option-Volume key – Starts Audio Preference Pane.

Option-Brightness key – Starts Display Preference Pane.

Command-Tab – Cycle through running applications.

Shift-Any Expose command – Slowmo expose.

Command-comma – Current application preferences.

Option-Number Key – ¡ ™ £ ¢ ∞ § ¶ and so on.

Ctrl-F8(Depending on your Macbook’s keyboard layout) – Airport Menu bar.

Shift-Option-Volume Key – Change the volume up or down in smaller increments.

If you have any shortcuts you’d like to see added to this list let me know in the comments and I’ll add the interesting ones. I found most of these by experimenting and I’m sure this is a long list somewhere but these are the ones I use the most.

